USB-C Cable Wire Gauge and Power Rating: How to Specify an Assembly That Delivers

A USB-C assembly can be specified in about ten lines, and most of those lines are copied from the previous project. That habit is harmless while you are buying 60 W charging cables and expensive the day you specify a 240 W power path into an industrial device. The difference between a cable that delivers its rating and one that quietly throttles, warms up and fails field testing is rarely the connector. It is wire gauge, length, and whether anyone checked what the E-marker chip is actually telling the source.

This guide is written for engineers and buyers specifying custom or semi-custom USB-C assemblies. All the figures quoted come from live Longkai product specifications, so the examples are real parts rather than hypotheticals.

Rated Power Is a System Property, Not a Cable Property

The single most common specification error is treating “240 W cable” as a guarantee. It is not. It is a statement that the assembly was built to carry that level when the rest of the chain cooperates.

Take our LK-03 USB 4 Type-C data cable. Its specification states 240 W fast charging at 48 V / 5 A, and explicitly notes backward compatibility with 180 W, 140 W, 100 W and 60 W. Three things follow from those numbers:

  • The assembly is built around a 5 A current path. Ampacity, not wattage, is what the copper has to survive.
  • The 240 W figure is reached at 48 V. At a lower negotiated voltage the same 5 A delivers far less power — 5 A at 20 V is 100 W, which is exactly the class the USB 3.1 Type-C with screws cable is specified for.
  • The actual delivered power is whatever the source and sink agree on. A cable cannot demand 240 W; it can only fail to support it.

That is why the E-marker chip appears on the specification line of both cables. On the LK-03 and the screw-locking USB 3.1 assembly alike, the chip is listed explicitly. Its job is to declare the cable’s current capability to the power source so the source knows whether a 5 A contract is permitted. If you specify a 5 A-capable assembly but omit the marker, or the marker is mis-programmed, the source falls back to a conservative default and your device charges slowly — and no amount of thicker copper will fix it.

Why Voltage, Not Amps, Unlocks the High Wattages

Heat in a cable scales with the square of current. Doubling current quadruples resistive heating in the conductors; doubling voltage at the same current does not. So the industry’s route from 100 W to 240 W was not “push more amps”, it was “raise the bus voltage and keep the current at a manageable 5 A”.

Running the arithmetic on the published figures makes the design logic obvious:

Assembly Stated power Stated current Implied power path Also declared compatible with
LK-03 USB 4 Type-C 240 W 5 A (48 V / 5 A stated) High-voltage, 5 A contract 180 W, 140 W, 100 W, 60 W
Type-C to USB-A female OTG 240 W fast charging 5 A High-voltage, 5 A contract Charging + video + data
USB 3.1 Type-C with screws 100 W (PD 100) Not stated as 5 A Conventional PD power path 10 Gbps data, 8 K projection
Right-angle C male to female Fast charging (wattage not stated) Not stated Charging + data + projection 10 Gbps data

The practical consequence for a specifier: if your device only needs 60 W or 100 W, you do not need a 240 W power path, and specifying one costs you money and flexibility. Thicker conductors and a high-voltage-rated construction add cost, stiffness and bend radius. Over-specifying power is as real a mistake as under-specifying it, just less visible in the field.

Wire Gauge: The Variable Connecting Length, Current and Heat

Wire gauge is where the electrical and mechanical worlds collide. Every conductor has resistance proportional to its length and inversely proportional to its cross-sectional area. Push current through that resistance and two things happen: voltage at the load drops, and the conductor warms. Both effects get worse as the run gets longer, and the standard remedy is a larger cross-section — a thicker gauge.

This is why wire gauge appears on the customisation line of these assemblies rather than as a fixed value. The LK-03, the USB 3.1 screw-lock cable and the OTG assembly all state that length, wire gauge and connector type are configurable to project specifications. There is no universally correct gauge; there is a correct gauge for your current, your length and your acceptable temperature rise.

Nominal length options and what they are for

The published length options across this family cluster tightly: 0.2 M, 0.5 M, 1 M and 2 M on the LK-03, the USB 3.1 screw-lock cable and the right-angle assembly, with an additional 1.5 M option on the OTG cable. That range is not arbitrary — it maps onto how these assemblies are used.

  • 0.2 M — pigtail, panel-to-board, and docking applications. Short runs keep resistance negligible and reduce cable clutter inside enclosures.
  • 0.5 M to 1 M — the desktop and bench range: laptop to monitor, camera to recorder, instrument to host.
  • 1.5 M to 2 M — the reach cases: wall-mounted displays, industrial control cabinets, test rigs where the host sits away from the operator.

Every extra metre adds resistance. If your design needs 2 M at full rated current, say so in the brief, because the gauge that was fine at 0.5 M may not be adequate at four times the length. Conversely, if you habitually buy 2 M but only ever need 0.5 M, you are paying for copper you do not need and fighting a stiffer cable in a tight enclosure.

Reading a Real Spec Sheet: What the Four Assemblies Actually Declare

Comparing published specifications side by side is the fastest way to learn what matters. Beyond power, three fields carry real engineering information.

Field LK-03 USB 4 Type-C USB 3.1 Type-C with screws Type-C to USB-A female OTG Right-angle C male to female
Chip E-marker chip E-marker chip Not stated Not stated
Conductor material Copper Copper Not stated Copper
Data rate 40 Gbps 10 Gbps 20 Gbps 10 Gbps
Power 240 W (48 V / 5 A) 100 W 240 W Fast charging
Video 8K@60Hz, 5K@60Hz, 4K@144Hz, dual 4K@60Hz 8K projection Video transmission listed Screen projection listed
Appearance / jacket Nylon braided PVC Shell colours: black, gun, blue-grey Nylon braided
Lengths 0.2 / 0.5 / 1 / 2 M 0.2 / 0.5 / 1 / 2 M 0.2 / 0.5 / 1 / 1.5 / 2 M 0.2 / 0.5 / 1 / 2 M
Customisation Length, wire gauge, connector type Length, wire gauge, connector type OEM/ODM OEM/ODM available

The OTG assembly is the only one in this sample publishing an electrical characteristic beyond power and speed: impedance and capacitive reactance of 85 Ω – 100 Ω, alongside a RoHS-compliant environmental declaration. That single line tells you more about signal behaviour than any marketing number. Controlled impedance is what allows a 20 Gbps link to stay stable rather than marginally functional, and it is the sort of field you should request explicitly on any assembly carrying high-speed differential pairs.

Jacket, Strain Relief and Locking: The Mechanical Half of the Spec

Power and data failures get the attention, but in the field most cable returns are mechanical. Three construction choices in this family address three different failure modes.

Nylon braid appears on the LK-03 and the right-angle assembly. Braided construction resists abrasion and gives the cable a more premium hand-feel, which matters for consumer-facing peripherals and anything frequently coiled and uncoiled.

PVC jackets the USB 3.1 screw-lock cable, where the published rationale is resistance to scratches, abrasion, dirt and moisture — durable and tear-resistant. In industrial environments a jacket that shrugs off cutting oil and wiping solvents is worth more than a braid that looks good on a shelf.

Screw locking is the interesting one. The USB 3.1 assembly uses screws to fix the cable to the receptacle so that equipment operates stably. Longkai’s own application notes for this part call out professional cameras — compatible with Sony PXW-Z300 type cameras for data transmission and power supply, where the screw locking prevents accidental disconnection during shooting — plus industrial cameras and scanners that must operate long-term in vibration environments, and industrial control computers where movement would otherwise cause poor contact.

That is the correct way to think about locking: it is not a feature, it is a risk control. If your assembly sits in a device that vibrates, gets moved, or is operated by someone whose job is not “be careful with the cable”, a screw-lock or a right-angle strain-relief geometry belongs on the drawing.

What to Put on the Drawing Before You Request a Quote

A quote request that produces a usable price on the first round contains the following lines. Anything missing becomes an assumption the factory will make on your behalf.

  1. Required power level and voltage. 240 W at 48 V / 5 A, or 100 W, or something in between. State whether backward compatibility with lower levels is required, the way the LK-03 declares 180/140/100/60 W.
  2. E-marker requirement. Explicitly say the assembly must include and correctly declare an E-marker, or you may receive one without.
  3. Current, not just wattage. Wattage is a derived number; ampacity is what the copper cares about.
  4. Length, and whether it is fixed or a range. 0.2 M to 2 M are the standard options here; a bespoke length is possible but belongs in the brief.
  5. Wire gauge, if you have a constraint. Otherwise state the maximum acceptable voltage drop or temperature rise and let the factory propose a gauge.
  6. Impedance requirement for high-speed pairs. The 85 Ω – 100 Ω figure on the OTG assembly is a good template.
  7. Data rate and video requirement. 40 Gbps with 8K@60Hz is a very different cable from 10 Gbps with 8 K projection.
  8. Jacket material. Nylon braided or PVC, and any chemical or abrasion exposure it must survive.
  9. Retention method. Standard friction fit, screw locking, or right-angle geometry for tight enclosures.
  10. Environmental declaration. RoHS compliance is published for the OTG assembly; if you need it, request it in writing rather than assuming.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does a 240 W cable always deliver 240 W?

No. The 240 W rating describes the assembly’s capability at the stated 48 V / 5 A power path. What actually flows is negotiated between the source and the device, and the E-marker chip is what tells the source the cable can safely carry 5 A. The LK-03 declares backward compatibility with 180 W, 140 W, 100 W and 60 W, which is exactly what you should expect in mixed device fleets.

Why does the same 5 A current give 240 W on one cable and 100 W on another?

Because voltage differs. 5 A at 48 V is 240 W; the same 5 A at 20 V is 100 W. The USB 3.1 screw-lock assembly is specified at 100 W, while the LK-03 reaches 240 W by running a higher bus voltage at the same current — which is why high-wattage designs raise voltage rather than push more amps.

Can I choose the wire gauge?

Yes. Wire gauge is listed as a customisation parameter alongside length and connector type on the LK-03 and the USB 3.1 screw-lock cable. The right approach is to specify your current, length and acceptable voltage drop or temperature rise, then let the factory propose the gauge — or name the gauge yourself if you have a design constraint.

When is a screw-locking connector worth the extra cost?

When the connection can be disturbed. Longkai’s application notes for the USB 3.1 screw-lock cable name professional cameras such as the Sony PXW-Z300, industrial cameras and scanners running long-term in vibration environments, and industrial control computers where movement causes poor contact. If a disconnection during operation costs more than the connector, specify locking.

What does the 85 Ω – 100 Ω figure mean?

It is the published impedance and capacitive reactance of the Type-C to USB-A female OTG assembly. Controlled impedance keeps high-speed differential signalling stable — that assembly is rated at 20 Gbps — rather than marginally passing. If your design carries high-speed data, ask for the impedance figure explicitly instead of relying on the headline data rate.

Conclusion: Specify the Current Path, Then Everything Else

USB-C looks like a commodity connector and behaves like a system-level decision. The four assemblies compared here span 10 Gbps to 40 Gbps, 100 W to 240 W, PVC to nylon braid, friction fit to screw locking — and every one of those differences traces back to a choice someone made on a drawing. Get ampacity, voltage, length and gauge right first, because those determine whether the cable survives. Then choose jacket and retention for the environment it will actually live in. Then, and only then, optimise cost.

The good news is that none of these variables is fixed. Length, wire gauge and connector type are configurable across this family, which means a well-written brief gets you an assembly engineered for your application rather than a stock part that almost fits.

Related articles

Search

Let us help you connect to the future!